It occurred to me the other day that I’m starting to look after myself a bit better, in a few different ways – physically, mentally, etc.  Some of the examples that spring to mind:

  • I’m trying to make sure I eat at least one piece of fruit every day.  This sounds simple, but for me, it’s something that actually requires brain space.
  • I’ve started going to zumba classes 2-3 times a week (other life stuff permitting).
  • I’m finally doing something about my lovely case of toenail fungus.  (Sounds appealing doesn’t it?!)  I ordered three bottles of Funginix and have been religiously applying it twice a day, as per instructions.  I’ve had toenail fungus for years but it’s got to the point now where I won’t wear any shoes that show my toes, so it’s time to actually sort it out.
  • I’m taking it easy when my body tells me to.  For example I should be sorting out the peeling bathroom/laundry in one of our properties today; but instead I’m going to kick back at home, do some laundry, and have a substantial nap.
  • I’m being a bit more proactive than I usually am in having time off work.  This means I plan it ahead and allow for it, with my boss’s knowledge.  This makes me feel more in control and less subject to the vagaries of depression.
  • I’m making the effort to actually appreciate the fantastic relationship I have with C.  A guy at work is going through all kinds of dramas in his marriage, and it has brought home to me how well C and I get along, and what a great life we really do have together.
  • I’m trying to enjoy the little/simple things – the lovely weather, gardening, etc.

I’m sure there’s other stuff, but this is all that springs to mind at the moment.